Discovering the trails with Trailforks

I mentioned in my last post that I’m not a mountain biker, but I do like to hit the trails — I just prefer to do so in trail running shoes.

I consider myself to be a casual trail runner. It’s my preferred outdoor activity (for three seasons of the year, anyway) but I’m not quite the type who casually sprints up and down a mountain every weekend.

I would describe my first couple trail runs in Squamish as “cautious”. I’m used to hitting trails solo and am well versed in what to do if I encounter wildlife, but I found myself weary of heading too far off the beaten path in fear of getting totally lost.

Then I found Trailforks.

Trailforks is an app that’s designed for mountain bikers but is equally suited for trail runners (just mind the bikers on the trail, of course). Here’s why I like it:

  • It’s free
  • It shows trails for tons of different places, including Squamish
  • It uses GPS to track exactly where you are on the trails — very helpful when navigating intertwining unmarked single track

I’m still feeling a little cautious as I discover some of the local trails, but the app has successfully guided me through some meandering trails behind Alice Lake Provincial Park (I’m loving Rob’s Corners and Cliff’s Corners) and it has given me a taste of the maze of trails tucked in my neighbourhood (Garibaldi Estates).

I still plan on picking up an actual trail map from one of the local shops, but for now I’m digging the app for discovering trails. Next step: acquire a few local trail running buddies to help show me the ropes.

 

Tackling Tracks From Hell near Alice Lake Provincial Park

Tackling Tracks From Hell near Alice Lake Provincial Park

3 thoughts on “Discovering the trails with Trailforks

  1. Pingback: My quest to explore Quest’s trails – Out of Bounds Squamish

  2. Pingback: My quest to explore Quest’s trails – Out of Bounds Squamish

  3. Pingback: Ready or Not… | Out of Bounds Squamish

Leave a Reply

