A Very Squamish Thanksgiving

thanksgiving-5

Our first Thanksgiving in Squamish has come and gone, but the leftovers and memories will last forever.

We had a big social Thanksgiving at a friend’s house the Friday before Thanksgiving, and had our own quiet turkey dinner on Sunday while watching the Blue Jays game. It was wonderful.

Here’s what our menu looked like:

  • Snacks: Lesley Stowe crisps (the BEST) and cheese
  • Drink: Apple cider with mulling spices
  • Sides:
    • Roast potatoes (my go to)
    • Yams with fried sage
    • Herb and apple stuffing
    • Gravy (Cedric made his own with the turkey drippings – I like to make some ahead of time so that it’s not so chaotic at the last minute)
    • Roasted Brussels sprouts
    • Rolls
  • Main: Turkey, duh
  • Dessert: Pumpkin pie from the Dahlia Bakery Cookbook
  • (I also made turkey stock with some of the veggies and the turkey bones – recipe here)

My goal was to incorporate as many tasty local treats as possible. I hit up the farmer’s market on Saturday morning to pick up some key ingredients from Nutrient Dense Farm (Squamish) and Plenty Wild Farms (Pemberton): potatoes, Brussels spourts, onions, carrots, celery, and garlic.

thanksgiving-1

The turkey was the piece de resistance. Back at the Farmer’s Market in August, I noticed a sign saying we could sign up for our Thanksgiving turkeys from Stony Mountain Farm. I put down a $25 deposit and waited patiently for my wildest turkey dreams to come true.

The week before Thanksgiving, we received details on turkey pick ups. Wednesday afternoon, I drove out to the Squamish Valley and picked up my freshly packaged turkey from the farm.

I’m going to be honest: it was really expensive. I have never paid this much for poultry before in my life – not even close. It was less than $100 – but not by much. Gulp. But this little turkey was free range, raised with love on a small scale farm, and my money was supporting local goodness. And it’s only once per year, right?

thanksgiving-4

I did most of the Thanksgiving day cooking, but the turkey is Cedric’s specialty. He prepared it perfectly. The lady at the farm had said it would cook in about half the time as a regular turkey (something to do with how the fat in fresh farm turkeys versus grocery store turkeys), but we found it took more like 3/4 the amount of time as a regular turkey. Towards the end, Cedric covered it in bacon, because why not.

thanksgiving-2

The result? This was, by far, the best turkey I have EVER eaten. I credit it partly to the turkey itself, partly to the chef. Honestly, this turkey was worth every penny.

The other menu item of note was the pumpkin pie. I don’t really like pumpkin pie – I much prefer apple pie or apple crisp. But Cedric requested pumpkin pie and I figured that it would be a good baking challenge (I love baking).

My aunt got me the Dahlia Bakery cookbook a few years ago (it is a bakery in Seattle that I am dying to visit). I have tried several recipes from the book, but never from the pie section. This would be a first.

thanksgiving-3

When it comes to pie, I am a purist. I have never purchased pre-made dough in my life, nor do I ever intend to. I have to say that the dough recipe from this book is perfect. I also followed the book’s advice and made my pumpkin puree from scratch (the pumpkin wasn’t Squamish local, but I was assured it was from BC).

thanksgiving-6

It turned out perfectly! Well, almost perfectly – the crust was a wee bit darker than I would have liked, but it tasted so good (remember, this is coming from someone who doesn’t love pumpkin pie). The whipped cream (recipe also from the Dahlia book) was a nice touch.

Our feast ended when we were both stuffed and couldn’t possibly stomach one more morsel of food. In other words, it was a very successful Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

