Do I Miss Whistler?

whistler-musings-5

My four in a half years in Whistler were, in a word, incredible.

I moved to Whistler somewhat impulsively, which is very out of character for me. I had a good life in Vancouver, but despite my awesome group of friends and cute Kitsilano apartment, I felt that things weren’t moving in the right direction. I had recently changed positions at my job, and my new role had me feeling stressed out all the time. At work, I felt like puking every time I had to pick up the phone (which, when you’re a brand new office leasing broker, is a frequent thing). And I didn’t want to puke and make cold calls. I wanted to snowboard.

So I quit my job, sublet my apartment, and moved to Whistler – and the rest is history.

whistler-musings2

One of the first times I got stuck in thigh deep pow. So good.

I have so many excellent memories of Whistler. I lived in five different houses; worked at least a dozen different jobs; made seasonal friends and forever friends; snowboarded hundreds of days; and somewhere along the way, I met a pretty excellent boy (something I never thought would happen in Whistler). I pretty much only have the best memories of my time in Whistler.

Did I love it? Yes! But do I miss it? No, I don’t think I do.

whistler-musings-6

Here’s how I see it: my time in Whistler was an epic chapter of my life and I wouldn’t trade it for anything (just as I wouldn’t change the Vancouver chapter for anything). But I’ve moved on to the next chapter in my life: the Squamish chapter – and it’s exactly where I’m meant to be.

Of course, I wish I got to see my Whistler friends a little more often. And, come winter, I’m sure I’ll long for the days where the ski lifts were only a five minute drive away.

whistler-musings-1

But secretly, I’m kind of looking forward to being a tourist in Whistler again. Instead of shredding many hurried mornings before work, I’ll snowboard fewer, but fuller days. I’ll get to join my city friends for the drive up to Whistler (which is way more fun than it sounds). Instead of rushing from the mountain to work, I’ll get to ski out and have a proper apres again.

I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

