A Very Valentine’s Recipe: Bobbette & Belle’s Macarons

Have you ever wondered why macarons are so expensive?

I no longer wonder this. In fact, after making a few variation’s of Bobbette & Belle’s French macarons, I wonder why they aren’t more expensive.

macarons-1

I thought that baking macarons would be a nice Valentine’s treat, but I didn’t expect these little morsels to be so demanding.

I opted to make two types of macarons. The raspberry and double chocolate variations seemed easy enough (ha ha ha ha hahahah), so that’s what I went for. In reality, I ended up making five recipes from Bobbette & Belle’s cookbook. Yes, little macarons are a wee bit labour intensive. I set up my audiobook (Elizabeth Smart’s My Story – captivating, but her narration is abysmal) and went to work.

1. French Macaron Shells

The first step of macaron-making is to prepare the shells. I thought this would be the hardest part, but it was actually the easiest – aside from shelling out $14.99 for a teeny tiny bag of almond flour, which was a little tough to swallow. As per the instructions, I traced 2 inch circles on a parchment sheet and lay them out pencil-side down. I ended up using this template to make sure my circles were as close to perfection as possible.

macaron-2

Some of these circles are not perfect.

The instructions were straightforward and I’d had the foresight to pre-read the directions a few pages later for the raspberry and double chocolate varieties. Since the double chocolate version had me adding cocoa powder mid-way through the original shell recipe, I ended up veering slightly off course around step 4, splitting the recipe in half and dying one set pink while adding cocoa powder to the other.

macaron-3

PIPING TIP: I learned eons ago that the easiest way to fill the bag is to fold the tip over (so that the filling doesn’t spill out) and place the bag in a glass. Fold the top of the bag over and fill your heart out (well, don’t overdo it). Then unfold the bag, remove it, twist the top, and you’re good to go.

Despite my perfect little circles, I was a little inconsistent in my piping. I started off very conservatively and ended up having a fair bit of extra batter. Tip: don’t try “topping up” your smaller shells after you’ve already piped them. You’ll end up with something that looks like the poo emoticon.

SMOOTH TOP TIP: If your piped shells have a Hershey’s kiss cowlick, dip your fingers in water and pat it down softly.

The true test of macaron shells is the presence of a little crust at the bottom – or, as the book says, “the much-desired lacy foot”. I was pleased as punch when I removed my shells from the oven and saw that I had achieved this.

macaron-7

My only real snafu at this stage – aside from irregular piping – was that I forgot the last part of step 5: “Once all the shells are piped, gently tap the bottom of each baking sheet against the counter to knock out any air bubbles and to smooth out the tops”. A few shells were ruined by air bubbles, but that’s okay – those are the shells meant for the bottom.

macaron-8

2. Double Chocolate Macarons

The double chocolate macaron recipe required incorporating cocoa powder in the main shell recipe and filling the shells with a simple chocolate ganache recipe: chocolate and cream. Making the ganache is a one-step recipe and, frankly, it’s hard to screw up.

And yet.

I was supposed to allow the mixture to cool to room temperature (check), then fill a piping bag and “pipe a teaspoon-size dollop of chocolate ganache onto each bottom”. Looking at the consistency of the ganache, I knew there was NO WAY I could put it in the piping bag – it was way too liquidy, even after an hour in the fridge. It would have poured out the end, making a large (and wasteful) mess. Instead, I used a little spoon to scoop a bit on each macaron. It was still quite liquidy. What am I missing?

macaron-14

Why so liquidy?

EXTRA GANACHE TIP: Mix leftover ganache with frothed milk and hot water for a delectable hot chocolate. Bliss.

3. Raspberry Macarons

The raspberry macaron recipe required following the original shell recipe to a tee, adding in a bit of pink food colouring along the way. Easy peasy. Then, it calls for making a raspberry filling using a mix of two recipes: one for buttercream, and one for a puree.

3A. Classic Vanilla Buttercream

Ughhhh, I knew I was going to hate this buttercream recipe because it called for a candy thermometer (it’s a Swiss meringue buttercream). Mine is broken and I haven’t picked up a new one yet. This recipe sort of makes the candy thermometer step seem optional (“… whisk gently until very hot to the touch or a candy thermometer reads 140F”). Okay, we can work with this.

I decided to use a meat thermometer, and when it hit 140F, I did a back up test and touched the egg white sugar mixture to see if it felt “very hot to the touch”. It did. I proceeded to the 10 minute whisking stage. This is supposed to allow the mixture to cool to room temperature, but I think I should have let mine stand a little while longer. (Foreshadowing).

I added the butter, cube by cube, and tossed in the vanilla. But things were not looking good…

3B. Raspberry Puree

Meanwhile, I whipped up a batch of raspberry puree. The recipe is pretty straightforward: buy a large bag of frozen raspberries (because that’s all that is available) and use only 1/2 a cup for the recipe (because you’re only making half a batch). Use raspberries in your morning smoothies for weeks to come.

macaron-6

Alternate use for raspberry puree: Halloween decor

In all seriousness, the recipe is easy, but it seems like you end up with such a pitiful little amount of puree at the end! I had to really rake my hands along the bottom of my sieve to get the juice out.

(Back to the main recipe)

Here we are: buttercream made (but looking dicey), raspberries pureed. Now, we add the raspberries to the buttercream.

macaron-9

It looked… not right. How does one describe this texture? Curdled? Lumpy?

macaron-11

Nonetheless, I filled the piping bag and began to pipe. The curdled buttercream tried to jam out, while the raspberry juice oozed out of the sides, making a liquidy mess.

macaron-12

: (

I ditched the piping bag and spooned on the buttercream. The result was not smooth and pretty like the pictures.

macaron-13

Verdict

My shells were good.

My fillings had some challenges.

My macarons looked okay.

But they tasted AMAZING!!!!!!

macaron-17

Not just any macarons – SQUAMISH macarons!

If I close my eyes, I can almost pretend I bought them at a market in Provence. Even Cedric – who at first resisted the macarons, saying they looked “too sweet” – was converted after popping back a few chocolate ones.

macaron-15

Please note how I tried to display these like they did in the B&B cookbook photo

Will I make them again? Well, I do have half a tiny bag of almond flour left. I’ll probably make them again in several months when I forget how much work they are. I can try some of the trickier variations, like the Earl Grey macarons and the Pistachio Cream macarons (praytell – where does on obtain “pure pistachio paste” in Squamish?)

macaron-16

6 thoughts on “A Very Valentine’s Recipe: Bobbette & Belle’s Macarons

  1. Well, you knew Matante would comment on this one! First, congratulations on the shells. Many accomplished bakers I know have had problems with that bit, so that’s quite the accomplishment.

    Next, the fillings:

    I make Swiss Meringue all the time, and there is one thing I know for sure: always let it cool longer than they say. Always. I don’t know how they do it, but it’s never enough time. Check the bottom of your mixer. The meringue might feel cool on the top, but the bottom is still too hot. And buy good quality butter. I tried with No Name 3 times, disaster each time. I think that brand has less butter fat or something.

    Chocolate ganache: Some brands of ganache are thinner than others. If it’s too thin, put back on the burner and add chocolate. And buy good quality chocolate. Like butter, this is an ingredient where it does not pay to try to save.

    You will not find pure pistachio paste anywhere but online or in a specialty baking store, unless you have a store that specializes in Middle Eastern food near you. The problem with specialty stores is that they only sell in large quantities, like a kilo for $200 or something. So best best: google a recipe. You can make your own if you have a food processor. You’ll have to shell the pistachios probably, but I love pistachio macaroons, so I bet it’s worth it.

    Alternately, if you have a store in your ‘hood that makes macaroons, you can ask them if you can buy some paste off them. I’ve done that before for various ingredients that you can only buy in bulk. sometimes they give it to you! (This is expensive tho, so probably not!)

    That’s it my sweet. I’m impressed with how you’re just powering through that book. Your mom is thrilled too!

    Like

    • SUCH WISDOM! Oh ma matante Lise I think you nailed everything I suspected I messed up. I’m going to try again one day with your tips. I think the cooling was for SURE the issue with the buttercream. More recipes to come!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Bobbette &Belle’s Piped Rose Lemon Cupcakes | Out of Bounds Squamish

  3. Pingback: Bobbette & Belle’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Cupcakes | Out of Bounds Squamish

  4. Pingback: Now, for a Change of Pace: Bobbette & Belle’s Flourless Chocolate Torte | Out of Bounds Squamish

  5. Pingback: Back to Basics: Bobbette & Belle’s Madagascar Vanilla Macarons | Out of Bounds Squamish

Leave a Reply

