Bobbette & Belle’s Lemon Tea Cakes

The verdict is in: Bobbette & Belle’s Lemon Tea Cakes are amazing. They’re so good, I made them twice. Sort of.

Lemon-Loaf-1

After the pretty lemon cupcakes, I was reminded at just how delicious lemony baked goods are, so I decided to continue on this theme of deliciousness.

Before I continue, I’d like to give a shout out to the three most delicious lemon things I’ve ever eaten:

  1. My old roommate Casey’s mom’s lemon squares.
  2. The lemon squares from The Lemon Square – worth every penny, remortgage your home if you have to.
  3. The lemon cupcakes at my friend Jessica’s wedding, which I have already written about.

The Lemon Tea Cakes recipe has a picture of five lovely lemon loaves, and the recipe says “Makes 8 to 10 small loaves or 14 to 16 mini loaves”. I was only intending on feeding my book club group and to provide some snacks for myself and Cedric – 8 to 16 loaves seemed slightly excessive. So I decided to halve the recipe.

Lemon-Loaf-2

The result: it produced enough batter for a single loaf in an 8 x 4 pan. So I made it again. Apparently, I don’t know what a small loaf is. I also learned that 14 to 16 mini loaves = 2 regular loaves. The more you know!

Lemon-Loaf-3

This is what half the recipe produces.

Luckily, I didn’t mind making the recipe twice since it was quite easy. A few tips:

  • You have to grease and lightly flour the pan. I can’t remember where I read this little trick, but if you unwrap a stick of butter, the foil wrapper is perfect for greasing a pan.
  • Try to remember to take out the buttermilk, butter, and eggs ahead of time, as they need to be room temperature. I always forget to do this!

The key to making this recipe delicious is, without a doubt, the use of 1/4 cup FRESH lemon juice and 1/3 cup lemon zest – they claim you need 6 to 8 lemons to produce this amount of zest, but I guess I used mammoth lemons because I only needed 2 to 3. Don’t even think about using that pre-squeezed lemon juice stuff! Just don’t do it. Lemons can seem expensive, but if you buy them in the bigger bulk bags, they’re not so bad. Plus, if you’re going to the effort of baking lemon loaves, it’s worth springing on real lemons.

Lemon-Loaf-4

Get it? Lemons in the background because it’s lemon loaf!

I baked the loaves for about 45 minutes, which is more than the 20-25 minutes for mini loaves and 30-35 minutes from the small loaves – but by now, I already knew that my loaf pan was giant and would require more cooking time.

The lemon glaze is the hardest part. It’s not the making it part that’s hard – that’s actually very easy – it’s waiting for the loaves to cool COMPLETELY and then letting the glaze set for an extra 30 minutes. It’s agonizing, but it’s totally worth it.

Lemon-Loaf-5

I love baking loaves, and I can say with certainty that I will absolutely be making these lemon tea cakes again. Five stars!

3 thoughts on “Bobbette & Belle’s Lemon Tea Cakes

  1. I won’t argue with you on the amazing goodness of all things lemon in the baking world. I always pick the lemon first, except at Halloween when I go for pumpkin with cream cheese icing. Lemon poppyseed loaf, yum!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Now, for a Change of Pace: Bobbette & Belle’s Flourless Chocolate Torte | Out of Bounds Squamish

Leave a Reply

