The Latest Breadscapades

My enthusiasm for baking bread has not waned much since I posted this, this, and this.

I officially no longer purchase bread from the store. A few times a week, I whip out my trusty (borrowed*) America’s Test Kitchen Bread Illustrated cookbook and turn to page 59: “Easy Sandwich Bread“. There’s no starter to make and no hours of leaving the dough to rise – just some simple ingredients (bread flour, whole wheat flour, yeast, water, butter, honey, and salt) and SHAZAM – bread!

April-bread6

BEHOLD!

Between toast at breakfast, sandwiches for Cedric’s lunch, and me eating the crusty ends as soon as the bread comes out of the oven (as if I could wait the recommended three hours for it to cool!), we do go through each loaf pretty quickly. Since it’s so easy to make, I don’t really mind.

I don’t know why, but I decided to try make crescent rolls this week. I was thinking more croissants than Pillsbury crescent roll, but the recipe is definitely more for the latter. I can’t tell you the last time I bought or ate a crescent roll… but hey, now I know I can make them!

I’ve recently decided that I want to learn how to make jam. I’ve never canned anything before, but I like homemade jam, so why not give it a go? After making the crescent rolls (which are good but demand something like jam to go with them), I decided to try to whip up a single batch of strawberry jam on a whim. I loosely followed an Ina Garten recipe. It didn’t turn out very well. I mean, it’s still strawberries mixed with sugar and lemon juice, so it tastes okay, but it’s pretty runny and the strawberries seem to have floated to the top of the jar. I’m going to attempt it again (with a little more care) another day.

Later this week, I intend to attempt making pita bread and parmesan bread sticks. The fun don’t stop around here!

*Big news: I have officially ordered a copy of Bread Illustrated for myself! It’s presently in the mail. I bet the Squamish Library is looking forward to getting their copy back.

3 thoughts on “The Latest Breadscapades

  1. OK, I’m officially impressed. Baking your own bread regularly? That’s so cool. I would have once thought It was an earth-motherish, live-on-a-commune-and-weave-your-own-cloth thing to do, but no more. Now it’s just cool. For croissants, you need to make puff pastry. I look forward to the post on that. I’ve done it, it’s a challenge, but not impossible.

    And to think you could have been an investment banker!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Humble American Sandwich Bread | Out of Bounds Squamish

Leave a Reply

